On Saturday morning I did my first triathlon, which ironically was titled “My First Tri.” It was a non-competitive triathlon to introduce people to the sport. It was a lot of fun. The course consisted of a 400 yard swim, 12 mile bike and 2 mile run.

The hardest part for me was the swim. I have never swam in open water, or at least not like this, so I wasn’t sure what it was going to be like. It was definitely a lot harder than I thought it was going to be. I made it through and came out of the water in pretty much the same position I went in (about 5 people from last). From there I had to climb about .25 mile up a hill to get to the transition area where I picked up my bike and headed out on the bike course. I started the bike course with a steep uphill and the course continue to be hilly from there on out. It was a mixture of uphills and downhills and really didn’t have a flat part to it. This surprised me a little considering the course was in Southern Wisconsin, but I was able to make up some time and passed quite a few people (or so Mark tells me). At the end of the bike I came back to the transition area, changed my gear and headed out for the run. The course was hilly and on a dirt path. It wasn’t exactly what I had prepared myself for, but it was a lot of fun.

The best part of the race was crossing the finish line. Mark was standing right there with a big smile on his face and the camera in his hand. Overall my first experience was  a good one and I definitely plan to do another. They haven’t posted the times yet (since it was only for fun there aren’t any places), but said they would be done by tomorrow.

Here are some pictures Mark took…

