Mark and I have been crazy busy. The kind of crazy busy that means you don’t spend a lot of time together. Most days we’re going in separate directions and meeting at home late for a quick chat and then off to bed. That’s how I thought Valentine’s Day was going to go, but here’s what actually happened.

Monday nights we’re usually both at the local ski hill for separate reasons. I ski in a race league and he teaches proper tobaggon techniques for the ski patrol candidates. Sometimes we meet in the bar afterward, but most nights he hangs out with his crew and I hang out with mine. This Monday I showed up to the hill, got my gear on and was ready to head out and ski when I realized I didn’t have any house keys. (My car was in the shop and I forgot to grab my house keys off the key chain, but that’s another story.) So I text Mark and ask to borrow his so that I can go home after I get done with my runs and start making dinner, I was thinking maybe mac and cheese?!? I get a text back saying that he’s not at the ski hill. Huh? It turns out that he had shown up for training and since there were only two candidates and five patrollers he decided to go do some errands instead. After a few back and forth texts he said he’d meet me at home around 7:30. I did some skiing on the horribly craptastic snow and headed home just in time to meet him in the driveway. We pulled into the garage, get out of our cars and he hands me flowers, red roses to be exact. I was SO excited. Mark has made it very well known how much he thinks Valentine’s Day is dumb so I was shocked to see flowers in his hand. Once we got in the house he hands me a card and shows me all of the stuff that he picked up for dinner – salad, asparagus, risotto and fresh lake trout! So we spent the rest of the evening drinking champagne (that was my Valentine’s Day and happy first day of work present to him), making dinner, exchanging cards and just relaxing together. It was one of the best nights I have had in a long time. And it was all because we had an extra two hours of just us time that night.

And tonight we’re going to the boat show! It doesn’t get more romantic than that. 😉

